Caterpillar Catapulter

I went trolling for monarch caterpillars today so I can bring them into my classroom and drive some lessons with my students.  I always pass this patch of milkweed and thought it to be the ‘motherload’.  There was so much of it in one place and it was fairly accessible without tromping through muck, private property and/or tick-infested grasses.  I found two.  Two.  And when I got back in the car to tell George that I had found ‘just two’ I had to tell him that, to add insult to injury, I had also lost one of them.  

How?  he asked. 

Me:    I was trying to do too much with one hand and the milkweed stalk snapped back.

>George made that sound in his throat that one makes when they are trying not to laugh<

Me:  What?!?

George:  You CATapulted a CATerpillar!  (to the baby) Hey George!  Your mom is a CAterpillar CATapulter!

And he shakes his head at MY jokes!

5 Responses to “Caterpillar Catapulter”

  1. sara Says:

    You’re rubbing off on him.

  2. sara Says:

    i added you to my bloglines so I’ll know when you update.

  3. Dawn Says:

    Whoo hoo! I have an audience!!

  4. sara Says:

    yeah, so entertain me already.

  5. Dawn Says:

    I’m trying to go out on a high note.

Leave a Reply

